I Can Walk Again and I Feel Like Dancing

If you know me personally the news that I took a bad fall on January 19 is not a surprise, I’ll tell you briefly what happened. My co-facilitator and good friend, Sheila and I were on our way to the Safety Harbor Library to do our monthly Story Circle Creative Writer’s Group. As usual, we stopped at Starbucks for coffee. Back outside we saw Maria, our friend and fellow writer headed toward us. She was excited and waving her notes,  “Look, I found the perfect cover for my book!”

As she stepped toward me I stepped back, and suddenly I was flying through the air. If you have had a big fall, you have had the same feeling. Time stood still as I sailed through the air and watched the tarmac get closer. Crash! I hit the ground hard, on my left side. I couldn’t move. I was numb from my shoulder to my ankle. In a subconscious move, my arm flew up and protected my head and face.

“Don’t move! Don’t try to get up,” Maria, who is a nurse said. “Take a deep breath, then another.” Meanwhile, a crowd gathered. Can I help, what can we do? I did try to get up but I couldn’t use my elbow or knee to help, they were skinned and bleeding. Then as luck would have it, there were two strapping, handsome men standing over me. In one swift move, they lifted me to my feet and helped me into Sheila’s car. I insisted we go and teach the class.

Sheila ran into the library and came out with a wheelchair, Maria helped me get into it and we went in for the class. We had twenty-eight people that night, the largest group we’d ever had, until the end when I couldn’t stand up by myself, most didn’t know what happened. A couple stayed behind to talk and gave me hugs and said they’d send me healing energy.

I wish I’d taken Maria’s advice and gone to the emergency room. When I still couldn’t walk ten days later, I finally did go. I had a triple fracture of my pelvis. I was pretty much out of commission for three months. Yes, I admit, my fingers still worked and I could have written. But I took advantage of the time for solitude and contemplation.

 

 

Categories: creative writing, memoir, personal stories, reflecting, Story Circles | Tags: , , | 11 Comments

Post navigation

11 thoughts on “I Can Walk Again and I Feel Like Dancing

  1. Holy crapola that sounds awful. D: I’m glad you’re doing better but oh gawd.

  2. Jan, you are an amazing woman. So glad you are up and going again!!!

  3. Jimmy Pickett

    Many thanks. Well said. Enjoy dancing. all of life is a dance. blessings Jim

    Jimmy Pickett pickettjf@gmail.com

    858 Cambridge Court Dunedin, Florida 34698 304 639 2179 web/blog coachpickett.org New email address pickettjf@gmail.com Jimmy Pickett Pickettjf@gmail.com

    This information has been disclosed to you from records protected by Federal confidentiality rules (42CFR part 2). The Federal rules prohibit you from making any further disclosure of this information unless further disclosure is expressly permitted by the written consent of the person to whom it pertains or as otherwise permitted by 42 CFR part 2. A general authorization for the release of medical or other information is NOT sufficient for this purpose. The Federal rules restrict any use of the information to criminally investigate or prosecute any alcohol or drug abuse patient.

    >

  4. Suzanne Supanek

    Terrible things can happen when you don’t listen to your body/brain telling you to slow down, rest, and smell the roses😢 SO glad you’re doing well and WRITING😘😍❤️🎉‼️

  5. So glad to hear this is finally behind you, Jan. It could have been a long-term setback and, so, congratulations to you on feeling like dancing. That says so much! I hope your friend still loves her book cover and is progressing along nicely to publication. And I look forward to reading more of your writing! I think of you, Sheila, and your writing circle at the library often.
    Best always, Mary Jo

  6. As the words fly off my screen into your mailbox, the words “long-term” are not saying what I’d intended: Your fall could have been much longer-term and I’m glad it was no longer than it was. A happy Saturday morning in FL to you!!

  7. Happy you’re mending well. Meditation is key.

  8. Composting Christina

    Neither wind nor rain nor sleet, or something like that. Mail carriers have nothing on our Jan when it comes to dedication and loyalty to the writer’s circle. However, now perhaps the loyalty is skewed a degree or two to include the pelvis and all other parts of body and mind. Thanks to you and to Sheila for a long run with all of us aspiring writers hereabouts. This is a great lesson for all of us, and not just about dangling particibles. xo Composting Christina

  9. Thanks Christina for your support and your encouraging words. It is writers like you who make our Story Circle a great adventure, by sharing your adventures with us. On our ride home Sheila and I often talk about your story from that night and how we enjoyed it!

  10. Melanie Lynn Petit

    So glad to hear you are feeling better ! You have been in my mind all winter, keep well, your friend, Melanie up north

  11. Sheila McNaughton

    This is a reminder to us all to be mindful of our surroundings and to appreciate your good health.So glad you are better!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

